Skip to content

Cream crackered

July 27, 2011

Shattered today .. totally and utterly.

Had a busy work day yesterday – just in Cambridge – but fairly full on … and today have felt like a sleep walker all day! Hopeless quite hopeless.

However, I spent a goodly chunk of the afternoon at the hospital seeing Obs Consultant and Rheumatology Consultant … lovely the pair of them and this time a little less gloomy … both pleased with me for getting this far.

The outcomes were:

swimming – yes

sleeping more – yes

hair dye – probably not but they’re getting back to me

extreme exhaustion – normal “especially at YOUR age”

7 blood tests, 2 urine samples and a 23 week scan booked along with lung function tests at some point soon too.

They found a little blood in my urine sample – which apparently is no cause for concern as none visible elsewhere if you know what I mean – but clearly it did make me concerned … so, to reassure me, Dr Patient (I love that she’s called that!!) smeared some goo on my tummy and used a small listening amplifying device jobby and we heard The Spaniard’s heart beat … and mine. Mine kind of a slow “swoosh swoosh swoosh” sound, and The Spaniard (apparently beating about 170 beats to the minute or more) sounded like a small but very fast train “choo choo choo choo choo choo” … so that was rather fun.

I have to wait a few days to find out if the blood in the urine thing is anything weird – and if it is some kind of infection or anything else … and other than that they will see me in August. I apparently have to be seen by them both each month and will have a raft of extra scans after the 20 week one. At 23 weeks they check the placenta (“at your age we have to keep a close eye on it”) – that seems to be the next think likely to go wrong if I have a weak womb or it’s not working properly and feeding the Spaniard (lucky small person enjoyed some curry last night!!)

So, that was that. Oh and I have to keep on with the wax pessaries (oh joy) for another month and the progynovia as well… but on the up side (incase you’re interested, I’m now allowed to have orgasms again!! No wonder I’ve been so cranky)

Haven’t had my walk yet today and not sure I’ve got the energy as am absolutely shattered … but will force self for just a short one before heading home and flaking out on the sofa. Him indoors is getting back from a trip to London with his sister at 11.30 … think he will come in to find a pillow and blanket on the sofa!!

You know that programme Bagpuss that used to be on the square friend? Think of the yawn … that’s how I feel right now … “saggy old cloth cat”!!

And for those of you that don’t know what I’m talking about … enjoy … and listen to the wonderful yawn about half way through!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracey Todhunter permalink
    July 29, 2011 2:19 am

    Hi Elie, just stopping by to leave a hug.
    Tx

  2. July 29, 2011 1:31 pm

    Hi, Ellie.

    Really enjoyed chatting to you last night and send you every good wish for the pregnancy.

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

