Skip to content

License to eat

August 16, 2011

Ha!

Apparently I’m not eating enough … that made me chuckle … as am eating almost incessantly. Apparently in between the constant grazing I need to have larger meals. The Spaniard’s rapid growth at the moment and my daily long walks are causing my metabolism to be speeded up.

I went to the midwife today at the Doctor’s surgery; very sweet called Ruth with a 12 year old similarly sweet student midwife with her (oh ok she wasn’t 12 but did look it). They chatted away for a little while but as I’ve been told everything so many times now they didn’t really have anything new to tell me so settled for blood tests, a urine sample and using the listening gubbins to listen to The Spaniard’s heartbeat. The little soul being 16 and a bit weeks now.

The 12 year old spent a while hunting for the heartbeat but there (hurrah) it was “wooof wooof wooof wooof wooof” – like a small dog today not a steam train as it sounded before… that made me smile.

Then they said the urine sample still had traces of blood in it so they are sending it off but probably it was from my kidneys and after The Spaniard is born they’ll run kidney tests – or something – so not to worry… the test also showed higher than correct ketones … an indicator of sugar levels in my system. Which led them to say I clearly wasn’t eating enough.

I said that unless I eat non stop I feel a bit sick, and at that moment felt a little queasy, so had to presume they knew what they were talking about and sprinted out of the surgery and straight to the Farm Shop where I guzzled a punnet of raspberries and  home-made sausage roll before coming back and eating a large avocado and tomato salad and a piece of cheese on toast.

Anyway – that was today’s excitement, seeing consultants (2) in  week and also having lung function tests to make sure my breathing is the way it should be.

As I sit here typing I realise I haven’t put my surgical stockings on yet today … bad bad me … I have had a long walk and a lie down but I MUST remember to put them on … death by blood clot would be most annoying.

Right ho … time to go and forage for more food!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracey Todhunter permalink
    August 17, 2011 10:08 pm

    Just dropping by to give you a hug, back from our hols and lots to catch up on.
    Lots of love
    Tx

    • August 25, 2011 5:45 pm

      only just seen this … thank you … what a couple of weeks you’ve had Tracey x

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

