Skip to content

When are you due?

August 25, 2011

Someone asked me that today … a total and utter stranger … a waitress in the place where I was having breakfast! She wandered over, I asked for some more guacamole (I know I know but amazing wonderful vegetarian breakfast at Bill’s in Cambridge) then I stood up to pick up something I’d dropped, and “Ohh you’re pregnant! When are you due?” out came the question.

I was torn between being quite chuffed and indignant! My friend Kathryn confirmed afterwards that I now ‘look’ pregnant and have a good ‘pregnancy’ shape … personally I’m not sure that I don’t just look a bit podgy but apparently it’s different!

So there – on day 111 of The Spaniard’s existence when I’m almost 18 weeks or 4  1/2 months pregnant  it is apparently visible to total strangers – so it must be real!!

I have felt absolutely wiped out all day today and had to have a lie down after walking home from town and have really struggled to keep my mind on work today twice finding myself asleep in my computer chair. So … time for a bit of fresh air then another snooze methinks! Oh and a chuckle that now, finally, for the first time in my life I look pregnant … something I never thought would happen. Next milestone will be feeling The Spaniard moving … but probably not for a few weeks more.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tracey Todhunter permalink
    August 25, 2011 10:25 pm

    I think it’s exciting to “look” pregnant. Enjoy the attention and the search for clothes – in my day it was all smocks and tents!
    Txxxx

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

