Skip to content

I guess that’s why they call it the blues …

August 30, 2011

Bit of a rubbish start to the post bank holiday week …

came downstairs this morning and looked out into the garden only to see a large squirrel dying, really horrible, and I feel very responsible after the rat man came and put stuff in the attic last week … not sure if it’s just the dead squirrel and The Spaniard’s baby hormones kicking in, or the fact that I had a rotten night’s sleep last night after husband got back from his week away all over tired and grumpy.

I lay awake thinking of all the things that need doing over the coming weeks:

– clear attic of expired creatures and mountains of junk

– excavate spare room and find airing cupboard so that:

a) can fix heating  / hot water

b) can start to sort out a room that will be shared between The Spaniard, our guests and my ‘home’ office

– put in new bathroom and flooring (old one all cracked and horrible)

– hoover lots with one of those carpet cleaning devices to get 20 years of rubbish out of the carpet

– sort out hooks in hall way and somewhere to put shoe mountain

and so on and so forth – oh and cut ivy to stop creatures climbing up and getting into the attic … oh and mending hole in the attic where they come in.

Anyway – I  haven’t stopped crying since I saw the poor squirrel go stiff and it’s beautiful bushy tail stop quivering. Well, I have but keep starting again and feel all sort of frozen inside. Major tummy ache, feel sick and headachey. GREAT big humph.

To top all that off this next 24 hours is extra sad as it marks 8 years since one of the most (probably the most) magical special people who I have had the privilege to have bringing colour, joy, love and general madness into my life had a heart attack and died very suddenly. Silly sod; Eric Henry you and Blue and Innit (both of them) are very very missed.

So, lots going on in the afore-mentioned mushed brain of this crazy pregnant person … hence the blues.

Pulling self together now and writing a marketing plan for 2 events in London for a new client, putting together invoices AND writing a proposal for another event … oh and dashing back home to welcome Matthew the rat man back again in the hope that he can remove the ex-Squirrel from the garden and dreading what he will find in the attic.

Oh the upside, today I wish very wonderful Faizal Rasheed from Kerala and my other Muslim friends ‘Eid mubarek’ (ohhh I wish I could be there to celebrate too) and I really enjoyed driving across Cambridge this morning and seeing so many multi coloured saris and girls in burkas and smartly dressed happy people walking along.

Also my tummy has expanded even more to the point where mother insisted on taking this picture of me putting my top on to demonstrate the size of The Spaniard’s dwelling place.
I’m pleased it’s so visible now … reassuring and fun to ‘feel’ and ‘look’ pregnant!

 

 

Sorry for the self indulgent blah … I blame the hormones and the ‘ceased to be squirrel’… and I did say back in the beginning of the blog that you were in it with me for the ups and downs.

So there!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 11:47 pm

    Look at your lovely baby belly!!! Good little Spaniard is growing. 😀

    Please let me know if I can help with sorting things, I’m so very good at that.

    Lots of love to you, keep going as you are.

    • September 1, 2011 5:55 pm

      Thanks Amy Jo … and yes please re the offer of help with sorting … I need to get a bit sorted bout maybe in a fortnight … you are off to the States soon aren’t you … remind me the dates … and hope to see you at some point next week (later) for a walk xxx thank you x

  2. September 2, 2011 7:22 am

    Amy, just go round and make a start. She’ll put it off for weeks 😉

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

