Skip to content

Songs and Lullabies

September 29, 2011

I was listening to the radio the other day (BBC radio 2 and Jeremy Vine one sunny lunchtime after a walk);  they were talking about lullabies, and singing to unborn babies and so on. It got me thinking.

Apparently The Spaniard can now hear what is going on outside of its cosy womb home and can recognise voices … it’s heard mine for a while but is now aware of other sounds. As those of you that know me well (or even a bit!!) will know I’m a big Bruce Springsteen fan, and the general presumption is that my small Spaniard will have been listening to Born to Run on a daily basis.

Wrong … well not entirely wrong but I have been playing other things too!

Funny, I haven’t really played much Springsteen at all since I have been pregnant (that’s relative remember!) … not that I’ve gone off the music but almost that I’ve been unsure what to play I like so much of it. The little soul has been exposed to everything from Country & Western to AC/DC, from Chopin to The Pogues with a little bit of English traditional folk music by way of A Show of Hands thrown in (it loves ‘Cousin Jack’ and ‘Santiago’).

Having discussed singing songs with The Spaniard’s father, something which caused him to look a little alarmed, he has today settled on singing What Shall We Do With The Drunken Sailor. He started this morning & I joined in … poor little bugger is probably huddled up inside me with its tiny hands over its tiny ears thinking ‘what on earth is that racket?’, it was fun but I’m not convinced there will be a repeat performance!!

So, I’m not worried about it being exposed to a good range of music but all this talk of particular songs it will recognise and instantly be calmed / excited by has made me wonder about the responsibility I’m under to ensure the first bits of music that get into its psyche are fitting.

I’ve come up with the following which will I’m sure grow but at the moment form the core of my ‘Essential Lullaby for The Spaniard’ collection.

Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong
I think this is the song I will learn to sing and will sing to it at bed times, it makes me happy, it makes me cry and it makes me humble… and all in all it is a pretty wonderful world.

Dream a little dream of me by Mama Cass (Mamas and Papas)
Just THE best night-time song ever … you couldn’t do anything other than drift off happy to this

Shenandoah by Bruce Springsteen and the Seeger Sessions Band
You didn’t really expect me not to have any Springsteen in the list did you? I love this song for so many reasons, mainly because my father used to sing us to sleep with it when we were little. Also following a very personal, meaningful and wonderful meeting with Springsteen himself in Dublin a few years back (no I’m not telling you the story) where he and I discussed the song and fathers singing to children, at a time when I was very emotional just having heard my father was increasingly poorly back in London. Bruce played it live during his show that night for the only time ever and next day he asked what I thought of it and “How’s your Daddy?”. Lots of tears shed. Having said that my father disliked this version and it has blotted out his voice singing it in my memory which is a shame but it still always makes me think of him.

Speed Bonnie Boat (The Skye Boat Song)
While I remembering my own childhood and favourite night-time songs this one has to be included.

Rockabye by Shawn Mullins
Drove round the Hollywood Hills with the top down to this and always felt happy and peaceful.

oh bugger and while I’m at it with the Shawn Mullins I have to include
Soul Child … I love the lyrics particularly ‘stay wild my soul child’

and this … well this has to be on any Lullaby play list
Wiegenlied by Johannes Brahms  

Just as you thought that was the end of the list, it’s not!!

I have to include this … he didn’t even write it (Tom Waits did) but this is my favourite ever Springsteen song … and seeing it performed live in New Jersey was one of the best moments in the world for me.

Jersey Girl by Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band 
This video was filmed by a friend at that show … which marked the last ever concert at the Giants Stadium … I stood there, squashed in the front row, watching it with my arm hair on end, the biggest grin in the world and tears flooding down my face just in front of my of my all time heroes Clarence Clemons who was the greatest saxophonist in the planet.

Sha la la la la la la la

There you go … and I reckon The Spaniard will be a pretty chilled out happy little soul with that collection of music… I’ll let you know (I hope and pray) in due course if it recognises any of them after it is born.

Anyway – that’s my (starting) list and I’m sticking with it, although I’m sure many more songs will come to mind … and I’d love it if you would suggest some as well. Lullabies, sleepy making tunes and so on.

Thank you : )

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha rawlins permalink
    September 29, 2011 5:28 pm

    You forgot Baby I Love You by The Ramones x

    • September 30, 2011 12:47 pm

      I LOVE that song : ) great idea Sam …. ohh I shall be singing it all day now!!

  2. September 29, 2011 7:00 pm

    Ahh lovely!

    This album is about the most chilled out thing I’ve ever heard. It’s all pretty lullaby-esque… http://itunes.apple.com/album/nino-rojo/id279390868. Maybe the spaniard will like it?

    • September 29, 2011 10:27 pm

      I don’t know about The Spaniard Claire but I think it’s fabulous … thank you x

  3. Lindsey permalink
    September 30, 2011 1:32 pm

    I remember thinking I should know some Spanish nuresery rhymes etc. Considering how huge the Spanish family is (the twins were great grandchildren numbers 38 and 39) I was a bit surprised they could only think of 1:

    Kerching kerching kerching
    Tu padre es borrachin
    Comio todos Los tomates
    Y dejó el perejil

    Meaning: your father is a drunkard, he ate all the tomatoes and left the parsley!!

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

