Skip to content

Oddest of odd

October 20, 2011

I had the oddest of odd dreams last night and have woken up feeling rather unsettled today … not helped by the fact that it is mother’s friend’s funeral later this morning.

This has been a weird kind of week. Living full time at Mum’s to look after her as the broken ribs heal at the same time as trying to keep my own walking, working, resting, eating, being married routine going … but it’s been peaceful and happy (other than being enraged by the medical profession and their lack of concern for discretion and patient confidentiality) week. I also had a long long work day yesterday starting with a 7.30 meeting and ending at 3pm … The Spaniard does not like it when I sit down for long periods so by about 1ish the little chap was lying sideways with its arms crossed sulking and making my tummy very sore. I calmed it down with a lovely lovely walk around the Magog Trust as the sun went down for an hour.

Anyway – I digress (there’s a surprise). You’ll recall a few week’s ago I had an alarmingly vivid dream about having a saucy affair with John Prescott. Well since then, I’ve had all sorts of weird dreams, apparently something that happens to us pregnant folk (though nothing quite on a par with waking up with the former Deputy Prime Minister!). I looked up ‘dreaming’ and ‘pregnancy’ online and it seemed that most people dream about loosing their baby in shops or when out and about … I hadn’t had that dream; until last night and then it wasn’t all together straight forward.

My Dream:

I woke up in a blind panic having given birth a few days earlier to The Spaniard, and dressed it in an odd hat and a stripy candy cane like romper suit thing (like a small Dr Suess) only it didn’t look like a baby more like a large worm but with a very sweet face. I handed it to mother and went down the stairs wondering where my huge tummy had gone and why my breasts were lower than my belly button before remembering I’d given birth. My dear dear friend Tim was waiting for me in the kitchen, apparently one of the first people to come and visit and I took him by the hand and led him upstairs to meet The Spaniard – only it wasn’t there … just the stripy romper suit and hat in the bottom of the cradle. I was scared of treading on it. Mummy came rushing in clutching what looked like a small long haired hamster and said, “Don’t worry, I’ve got your other one here but I’m going to give it to this chap to hold” (enter small 5 year old nephew with very dirty hands clasping out to grip the hamster. “Nooooooo”, I called out …

at which point I woke up.

All very odd – any dream analysts amongst you will have a field day with my totally crazed brain … confused? Yup!!!!

Back in the real world, the sun is shining today on a crispy cold Cambridge morning and I so enjoyed my work day yesterday – it was good to be ‘back in the swing of it’ and in Cambridge too.

See how happy I was … little did I know the night of oddness that lay ahead!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Right then – time to get washed and ready for the funeral of the mother of my childhood buddy … this glorious day really is a fitting tribute to her… and The Spaniard and I, and of course mother wrapped in cotton wool to protect her ribs will be there to thank her for all the joy she bought to us over the years.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 10:10 am

    Great blog post Ellie, you looked so serene sitting there yesterday I just had to take the pic!

    • October 20, 2011 10:14 am

      Ha – have never been called serene before!!! I shall look at this picture in future and remember that I once was!! Thank you so much Carol … and lovely to spend the day with you : )

  2. October 20, 2011 2:24 pm

    Chap or chapette?

    • October 20, 2011 2:44 pm

      Lindsey I have no idea and don’t want to know … I use chap as a gender non specific word!!!

      I just wait for the day that the doctor hands me a screaming bundle saying “it’s a girl” or “it’s a boy” … in meantime use of terms like chap and fellow and little soul are just neutral terms!!
      x

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

