Skip to content

“Your baby can now cry”

October 28, 2011

About now we move from week 26 to week 27 .. which also heralds month 7 and the start (if we’re being formal about everything) of the third trimester.

So, as every week since The Spaniard came into being, I’ve been reading my two books which give week by week ‘updates’ on what’s up with the little person and also what’s going on with my cronky old body.. I’ve also been looking online at a couple of sites.

What all of them agree on is by week 27, “Your baby can now cry”.

Reading that this evening made me feel terribly sad … poor little soul … sitting there in its bubbly, watery world crying with no tears. Is it crying at the thought of the big wide world out there or simply cos it’s sitting in the dark?

This made me feel even more responsible for its welfare than I already did and I hereby promise to do all I can to make sure it’s remaining 2 and a bit months in the cavern are happy ones.

I shall play it cheery tunes (thank you Sam) ‘Baby I love you’ by the Ramones is a great idea, I shall chat to it more often, I shall give it regular rubs, take it swimming, go for more walks (or at least continue the walks we already have), listen to jokes so I laugh more, spend more time with friends, try to avoid stress, sing more, listen to more music and eat more curry and artichokes (which seem to be its favourite).

Any other ideas for activities that unborn persons enjoy gratefully received …

The other thing that I read was that if you put your ear against my tummy you can hear The Spaniard’s heart beating … form an orderly queue please. I wish I could do that … I must demand a stethoscope from one of my medically mined friends. I also think, knowing how the little fellow (no that doesn’t mean it’s a boy, it’s just a word like person or soul) booted the doctor and previously the sonographer when they tried to press the listeny jobby in to my tummy to hear it, that if you did put your head against my tummy you would probably end up with a thick ear or a black eye. The Spaniard is a feisty little one that’s for sure.

This evening it is currently rearranging its furniture and trying to push the walls out to accommodate its 2lb (it says in the books) weight more comfortably. I think it is turning over and over or something .. maybe a budding astronaut … whatever, it hurts and it feels decidedly odd, however, in light of reading about the potential for tearless crying I am patting it cheerfully and encouraging it to keep on with its redecoration. Creativity is to be nurtured not stifled!!

Right then, so your job, oh eternally patient reader, is to help me keep The Spaniard cheerful, well fed and calm so that although it ‘can now cry’ it won’t feel the need to.

I’m now off to watch Bridget Jones Diary on the television until my unborn interior designer settles down.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2011 2:23 am

    You may be watching Bridget Jones for a while yet hun xxx

  2. October 29, 2011 11:24 pm

    Your description of the furniture arranging is wonderful 😀

    Keep thinking nurturing thoughts – and if you fancy some more reading, try The Continuum Concept by Jean Liedloff and Why Love Matters by Sue Gerhardt, both thought provoking and amazing (maybe you’ve already discovered them :))

  3. October 31, 2011 12:07 am

    Hi, Ellie.

    It is so wonderful to see that day by day you are getting closer to your dream. The Spaniard is going to be a wonderful gift to you and Roy and so loved by you both and all your family & friends.

    But, believe me as a father (who was a single parent for a time) and a grandfather (who is very hands on), there is no such thing as a baby that does not cry. A degree of crying is a normal part of a baby’s development and, during the first year or two, you will often not know why the baby is crying.

    Indeed, if the baby does not cry, this may be an indication of other problems.

    So, do all that you have proposed, but don’t worry too much if The Spaniard sometimes cries in or out of the womb.

    All the best to the three of you.

    Roger

    • November 1, 2011 11:45 am

      Thanks Roger … you are one of my inspirations both with the blogging and also your attitude to all this.

      Hope all is well with you – and that I get to see you at some point before The Spaniard appears in person x

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

