Skip to content

30 weeks

November 19, 2011
tags:

who’d have thought it possible?! 30 weeks

This feels like the longest pregnancy ever (as I’m sure they all do) … having started way back at the start of May and having known our little Spaniard since then it really has been some journey. After 11 scans the little ‘scan’ photo album is already full and chart The Spaniard’s progress from being an embryo made up of a few cells to the 2lb 13 oz baby it was last week when I had the latest scans. I shall need a new album or more pages to include the next 3 scheduled scans!!

I’ve learnt that pregnancy hurts and is exhausting, that it is a miracle which grows bigger with each day it carries on and that my baby is nocturnal and that it is the strangest and most magical feeling having some kicking inside and visibly moving and changing the shape of my tummy… !

There are around 50 days left until The Spaniard’s arrival, and I’m sure many of those will get eaten up by Christmas but I want to make sure that in those days I laugh alot and I sleep as much as I can and that I very selfishly have some ‘me’ time cos it is quite an odd thought that as of 12th January (all being well and going to plan) I will never again be totally & utterly carefree and that there will always be someone depending on me.

So … 30 weeks, raise a glass for me of something a bit stronger than fizzy water (cos I can’t) and here’s to the next 50 or so days being good ones.

I’m having a baby … it still doesn’t feel quite real!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. JaniceM permalink
    November 20, 2011 6:15 pm

    Hurrah! A great milestone to reach Ellie, well done! For the record, having someone depend on you is pretty nice, even when it restricts concert going sometimes;-)) Keep well x

  2. Joan Lawton permalink
    November 20, 2011 8:14 pm

    Toast has been given, all fingers and toes crossed and you are correct that after the 12th of Jan life will change, My 2 are 34 and 30 and I still worry about them, have sleepless nights thinking about them, get exasperated by them but would never want it any other way

    There with you Joan and Neill

  3. Cate permalink
    November 20, 2011 8:50 pm

    Not just toasting.. but cheering!!

    ‘me’ time is over-rated!! lol xx

    • November 30, 2011 11:25 pm

      know where to bring the Spaniard for a baby sitter then!!! xxxx big hug Cate and thank you

  4. Gwen permalink
    November 22, 2011 2:29 pm

    Hurray!! \ o /

  5. November 22, 2011 11:18 pm

    You’re absolutely right about the need to take some ‘me’ time, Ellie. You won’t have this chance for another 20 years! Then, about 10 years later, with luck you’ll be doing grand parenting.

    This weekend, I’ve looking after my granddaughter (now 10 months) overnight for the first time. Really looking forward to it.

    • November 30, 2011 11:25 pm

      thanks Roger .. i think!!! hope you had a wonderful weekend … i love following your blog and seeing how she’s growing x

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

