Skip to content

One month old today

February 5, 2012

Happy Birthday Hope … one month old today.

OK OK I’ve become one of those deeply irritating mothers I know and I promise to stop BUT I have waited 47 years to have a small person and I am really so so proud, happy, besotted and overwhelmed to now be in the position to be sitting typing with a small Hope attached to my front in a baby carrying pouch thing … after the ups and downs of the pregnancy and all the false starts in the past I guess I never really believed it to be possible that I would have a child… but I do … and she is perfect. Hence,  I have become one of those annoying over the top mothers. So, I’ll shut up (for now!!).

Her father is stuck at home sick with the horrible winter vomiting virus, so isn’t able to share this happy day with us, but Hope and I have had a walk in the snow and built a snowman and are going to have a cosy indoor cup of tea kind of birthday party with her Granby – which I’m sure she’ll sleep through. She is growing so much – looking at photos from 5th January, which seems a gazillion years rather than just one month ago, she seems positively huge by comparison to what she was although compared to most babies she is still tiny. We have also today had an Elvis Presley disco .. she seemed particularly taken with Love Me Tender and Hunk of Burning Love and looked quite sad during In the Ghetto. She did also party alot last night so we’re both rather tired this afternoon and she has decided that every time I think I can sneak off for a snooze she will wake up and start chatting again. I need to master the Baby Whispering technique to get her to sleep … either that or programme myself to believe that sleep is for wimps … I’ve never been able to do that; always been partial to a good night sleep – late nights generally and rubbish at getting up in the morning but after a month of not alot of sleep I just get used to the fact that I will need to find some make up manufacturer that makes sleep deprivation concealing face paint!

Right then … all her lovely ‘welcome to the world’ cards to start sticking into a book and lots of thank you cards to write and maybe a small snooze as she would appear to be fast asleep in the carrying pouch – but I’m sure that when I put her in her basket she’ll wake up again!

Thank you so much for the encouragement, tolerance and kindness which you’ve given me over this last momentous month… so so appreciated. I am so fortunate… and so is Hope to have such support.

Hope's one month birthday party

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joan Lawton and Neill Murray permalink
    February 5, 2012 6:18 pm

    Happy one month birthday Hope, from Lincolnshire

  2. February 5, 2012 6:41 pm

    what a lovely post, snow on her one month birthday how lovely 🙂 That picture will be a lovely one to look back on next year when we see snow as the change will be even more amazing than that since the 5th January to now 🙂 x

  3. Roger Darlington permalink
    February 8, 2012 11:03 pm

    Coming to check on you & Hope on Frday! Yeh!

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

