Skip to content

California Girls

September 27, 2012

Hope has 4 Godmothers and 4 Godfathers … all wonderful and all inspiring, but one of them has excelled herself in love, kindness, support and generosity and thanks to her (the glamorous one) Hope and I are off in the morning to California for a few weeks. I shall be working still out there … the good thing about being self employed is that as long as I have my laptop, my phone and wifi I can work anywhere … and we shall also be having a rest, in as far as you can have a rest with a bright eyed small person who is beginning to wriggle wildly and chatters endlessly, we shall be seeing family and friends and I hope, I really hope, going whale and dolphin watching from lovely Newport Beach.

So … I’m currently battling with having had no sleep at all for two nights, a MOUNTAIN to condense into 2 suitcases and a list of ‘things to do’ … it seems quite overwhelming at the moment but Hope’s precious Granby has cooked us a wonderful roast chicken to give me some energy tonight and I’m about to dive back into the packing with gusto … Hope’s godmother Clare won’t know what has hit her when we arrive … she may need to move into the shed so there’s room for Hope and all her paraphernalia.

I may sound calm … I’m not … getting through the airport on my own with ‘stuff’ and baby is filling me with terror … let’s hope Heathrow is friendlier than Stansted was and that Virgin Atlantic are more baby/Mummy tolerant than Ryanair! It’s only a 10 or 11 hour flight … we’ll be fine!!!

Let the packing commence!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2012 9:14 pm

    Hope the trip goes well, and you get some time to rest and relax. XXX

  2. September 29, 2012 3:25 pm

    Oh my god Ellie! You are my hero as this is one of the things I would have to put on my ‘fear’ list – travelling long haul with a baby. Not because of the baby, but like you say, because of all the stuff! I truly hope you have THE MOST AMAZING in time in California – I am very jealous! Also just to let you know I will be going to Mumsnets Blogfest after all – see you and beautiful Hope there!

    • October 6, 2012 7:53 pm

      bless you … there will be alot to catch up on on November 10th : ) xx

  3. Roger Darlington permalink
    September 29, 2012 7:16 pm

    Have a BRILLIANT time!

    • October 6, 2012 7:52 pm

      Oh Uncle Roger, we really are … friendship, warmth, laughter and the Pacific ocean … oh and margaritas x

  4. October 6, 2012 8:53 pm

    I have to get to California some day..Hope all is well

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

