Skip to content

awake asleep awake asleep awake

December 4, 2012

My girl has got into a routine of non routineness this last week … we’ve never been ones to be too precise about feeding time and bed time and this seems to have worked well for both of us, and to date she has been (on the whole) a good sleeper and a very laid back and happy little soul (other than when she had her bug or is teething) .. this last week however she has started to alternate.

Night one, fast asleep, spark out, in her little cot from 10.30 til 6am … marvellous, and then she wakes up chatty and relaxed and plays quietly with Winnie the Pool and Portland Panda for about half an hour before demanding something to eat.

Night two, fast asleep, and then at one am, suddenly, wide awake with a little cry and then wide awake and intent of practising clapping, chatting and organising tiny flecks of dust, cotton, and so on into neat piles, also ravenous … she feeds and feeds and feeds, seems to have fallen asleep but when I try to extract my nipple from her hungry little mouth she protests and wakes back up again … til about 4am but one night right through til 8am … nothing works…

next night … fast asleep all night, next night fast asleep all night then another wide awake night …

maybe we’re doing too much and her little head needs time to think about it all, or maybe she just feels the need to share her excitement about her new skills …

either way it is wearing, even though when she is awake and cheerful it is hard to feel anything other than joy when you watch her delightedly picking fluff off the bedding or holding a finger out in the manner of ET and waiting for you to touch it.

Just means I am more in need than I have been on previous occasions, of a paper bag with a wide awake face drawn on it to put over my head.

I was thinking it was my fault for not being so Gina Ford as I should have been but I spoke to a friend earlier who is Ms Routine and her baby wakes up randomly at night in a similar way so now I feel better!!

Other than night time waking, Hope is remarkable and so engaging and is continuing her reign of charm over in England though I do think she misses the exuberance of the praise that was heaped on her in California!

Right then, she’s at her childminder’s house today and I’m catching up on work and paperwork and bills and life until 5pm when I go to fetch her … I miss my girl, and I feel very ‘full’ and ready to feed her … maybe I’ll do some expressing while I have a phone conference shortly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2012 5:25 pm

    Hopefully the child minder will wear her out then! You’ll miss these days when they’re gone. XX

    • December 7, 2012 9:58 pm

      Anya I’ll always cherish these days tired and exhausting and at times frustrating as they are … bless her

  2. Linda permalink
    December 4, 2012 9:47 pm

    All babies have times when they wake randomly. I used to make evenings/night times really, really boring so that they learned that there was nothing worth staying awake for! No talking….only the dimmest of lights on if necessary, but I did sing in a really low, monotonous voice, same songs, in the same sequence….as I said, boring! Still sing the same songs to my grandchildren!! They sometimes sing along, their voices getting sleepier….zzzzzzzzz 🙂

    • December 7, 2012 9:58 pm

      thanks Linda … I have a wonderful French nursery rhyme someone told me which seems to work … similar thing, quiet and repetition

What do you think? Comments welcome ...

